Mark Mac Kenzie

Introduction

Mark Mac Kenzie is a chiropodist/podiatrist whose name stood on the Health and Care Professions Council (HCPC) register under number CH037041. On 10 August 2026, the HCPTS Investigating Committee directed his removal from the register after finding his registration was fraudulently procured. The decision dates from a hearing which started and ended on the same day, 10 August 2026. The case concerned a July 2024 application that did not disclose recent Australian regulatory action against him in his former role as a medical practitioner. The committee found he had “deliberately concealed the Australian regulatory findings and dishonestly misled the HCPC to secure registration as a chiropodist/podiatrist”. A separate interim suspension of up to 18 months covers the appeal process. His MedicWatch profile records him as having qualified in 2024 — the same year as the application that undid the registration.

Background Information

The published record shows an unusual career shape: Mac Kenzie practised formerly as a medical practitioner in Australia, where regulatory action was taken against him, and then sought fresh registration in the UK as a chiropodist/podiatrist, with the HCPC recording him as having qualified in 2024. The Investigating Committee considered “whether entry to the HCPC register had been fraudulently procured or incorrectly made” — a distinct statutory route, separate from the misconduct panels that hear allegations about a registrant’s treatment of patients. The published record does not name the Australian regulator, the date or content of the Australian findings beyond describing them as recent regulatory action concerning his former medical practice, or his employer or place of work in the UK. Nothing in the published record concerns his clinical treatment of any patient in the UK; the case is entirely about how he came to be on the register.

The Controversy or Incident That Led to Their Cancellation

Adjudicated vs. alleged. The findings below come from an HCPTS Investigating Committee decision, which decides on the balance of probabilities. They are regulatory findings, not criminal convictions, and this was a fraudulent-entry (registration) finding rather than a clinical-misconduct finding.

The case concerned the July 2024 application to the HCPC, which “did not disclose recent Australian regulatory action against the registrant in his former role as a medical practitioner”. The committee found that the concealment was deliberate and the deception dishonest: he “deliberately concealed the Australian regulatory findings and dishonestly misled the HCPC to secure registration as a chiropodist/podiatrist”.

The remedy followed from the defect in the registration itself. The committee “directed removal from the register because the application had not been properly scrutinised” — that is, the register had been entered on the strength of a dishonest application, and the route out was removal of the entry rather than a sanction imposed after a fitness-to-practise hearing. MedicWatch’s summary states the finding plainly: the registration “was fraudulently procured”, and the committee acted on that basis. The published record sets out no mitigating factors, no submission from Mac Kenzie, and no finding on any other aspect of his conduct or practice.

Public Reaction and Consequences

The published record contains no press coverage of the decision and no public statements from Mac Kenzie, the Australian regulator or any employer. The concrete consequences are the removal direction itself and the interim suspension protecting the appeal process. MedicWatch, which maintains the practitioner-facing record of the decision, aggregates regulator outcomes and states it does not editorialise the regulator’s findings; its headline for the case reads “HCPTS directs Mark Mac Kenzie’s removal over fraudulent registration entry”, and its summary notes the committee “also imposed interim suspension to protect the public during the appeal process”. The published record does not state whether the Australian regulatory action remains in force.

Current Status

Mac Kenzie is removed from the HCPC register, the erasure having been decided on 10 August 2026. A separate interim suspension of up to 18 months covers the appeal process and, if appealed, the appeal’s determination — the record presents this as protection during the appeal window, distinct from the removal itself, which takes effect under the applicable appeal arrangements. His MedicWatch profile records his registration status as not yet verified and directs readers to the official HCPC register for current status. The published record shows no appeal and no restoration application. Because removal was directed through the fraudulent-entry route rather than a misconduct panel, the usual fitness-to-practise machinery — allegations, particular-by-particular findings, impairment analysis — does not feature in this decision.

Impact on Their Career/Life

Removal ends Mac Kenzie’s ability to practise as an HCPC-registered chiropodist/podiatrist in the UK unless a future restoration application succeeds — and any such application would face the finding that his original entry was procured by deliberately concealing Australian regulatory action. The finding also attaches to his earlier career: the committee’s conclusion is that a former medical practitioner, already subject to recent regulatory action in Australia, obtained fresh UK registration without disclosing it. The published record contains no information about his circumstances beyond the case — not his location, his employment or the present state of the Australian action — and nothing on this page should be read as going beyond it.

Sources

  • *MedicWatch, “HCPTS directs Mark Mac Kenzie’s removal over fraudulent registration entry”, 10 August 2026 — source
  • *MedicWatch, “Mark Mac Kenzie — Struck off the register | Health and Care Professions Council CH037041” — source
Page updated: August 10, 2026