Sifiso Ncube

Introduction

Sifiso Ncube is an adult nurse who was registered with the Nursing and Midwifery Council (NMC), the statutory regulator of nursing in the United Kingdom (registration number 17I1053S), and who worked in Scotland. On 24 March 2026, the NMC’s Fitness to Practise Committee imposed a striking-off order on her — the sanction commonly described as being struck off — after a panel found that she had repeatedly acted dishonestly, both in concealing one nursing job from another employer and in making false statements about her own care company’s regulatory status and staff vetting.

Background Information

The NMC maintains the register of nurses entitled to practise in the United Kingdom. When concerns about a nurse’s fitness to practise are referred to the regulator, a panel hears the evidence at a substantive hearing and makes findings on the balance of probabilities. The sanctions available range from caution orders through conditions of practice and suspension to striking off, also called erasure, which removes the nurse’s entry from the register entirely.

The hearing concerning Ncube opened on 16 March 2026 and concluded on 24 March 2026. By that point she was working in Scotland as a registered adult nurse and had also become a director of Thurso Care Services Limited, a company supplying care staff. In Scotland, care services are regulated by the Care Inspectorate, and providers must be registered with it before operating; staff supplying agencies are also expected to undergo appropriate background checks. Both frameworks feature in the findings against her.

The Controversy or Incident That Led to Their Cancellation

Adjudicated vs. alleged. The findings described here were made on the balance of probabilities by a Nursing and Midwifery Council panel — the civil standard applied by regulatory tribunals — and are not criminal convictions; no court conviction of Sifiso Ncube is recorded in this decision.

The charges fell into two clusters. The first concerned her dual employment. While employed by NHS Tayside, Ncube did not disclose that employment when she applied to and started work at Cranford Care Home in March/April 2022. She likewise did not disclose her Cranford role to NHS Tayside. The panel found these actions were dishonest. Most of the charges were found proved, some by admission, while others were not proved.

The second cluster concerned Thurso Care Services Limited, of which Ncube was a director. As director, she stated to Cranford Care Home that the company was registered with the Care Inspectorate when it was not. She approved a company introduction document containing several false claims about staff registration and vetting, and she did not ensure that appropriate background checks on staff were carried out. Thurso staff were placed at Cranford, displacing an existing agency. She also made false declarations to the Care Inspectorate about whether Thurso had supplied nurses. The panel found her actions in respect of the company were dishonest.

Public Reaction and Consequences

The panel found Ncube’s fitness to practise impaired by reason of her misconduct. It concluded that the misconduct involved repeated acts of dishonesty and demonstrated deep-seated attitudinal concerns, that she had failed to demonstrate meaningful insight, and that her behaviour was incompatible with remaining on the register. In the panel’s view, there was no realistic prospect that she would develop insight or return to safe practice within a reasonable period.

In choosing the sanction, the panel considered whether suspension would suffice. It decided that a suspension order would not address public protection or public confidence, given the pattern of dishonesty, the deep-seated attitudinal concerns, and the absence of meaningful insight, and it therefore imposed a striking-off order. The panel identified aggravating factors: a continued attempt to deceive, a potential for financial gain, conduct that was neither opportunistic nor spontaneous, and detrimental effects on service providers. Against these stood limited mitigation in the form of part admissions and good character. An interim suspension order of 18 months was imposed pending appeal.

Current Status

As of the decision date of 24 March 2026, Sifiso Ncube has been struck off the NMC register: the Fitness to Practise Committee directed her removal, meaning she may no longer practise as a registered nurse in the United Kingdom. The decision sets out when the striking-off direction takes effect and any appeal provisions, and the official NMC register remains the authoritative source for her current registration status. An interim suspension order of 18 months applies pending appeal.

Impact on Their Career/Life

Erasure from the register ends a nurse’s ability to work in registered nursing roles in the UK, where employers and agencies check the NMC register before engaging registered staff. For Ncube, the removal followed not clinical failings but findings of repeated dishonesty: concealing one employer from another, misstating her company’s regulatory status to a care home and to the Care Inspectorate, and approving false claims about staff vetting.

The outcome is a public record: MedicWatch, an independent record service that aggregates the publicly published decisions of UK healthcare regulators, lists the result as erasure and records the decision as published on 24 March 2026. Beyond the loss of her registration and the interim suspension pending appeal, the published determination records no other consequences.

Sources

  • MedicWatch, “Sifiso Ncube — Struck off the register · 24 March 2026,” MedicWatch determination page.source
  • MedicWatch, “Sifiso Ncube — Struck off the register | Nursing and Midwifery Council 17I1053S,” MedicWatch practitioner profile.source
Page updated: March 24, 2026