James Bugg

Introduction

James Bugg is an operating department practitioner who was registered with the Health and Care Professions Council (HCPC) under registration number ODP34288. On 17 March 2025, a panel of the Health and Care Professions Tribunal Service (HCPTS) opened and concluded a substantive hearing into his fitness to practise and struck him off the register. The case concerned his convictions for making indecent or pseudo-indecent photographs of children — three counts covering 289 images spanning all three severity categories. The panel found his fitness to practise impaired on personal and public grounds, concluded that the convictions were fundamentally incompatible with remaining registered, and determined that only striking off was appropriate.

Background Information

The published record identifies Bugg as an operating department practitioner holding HCPC registration ODP34288. It does not describe his employers, training, age or career history, and this page does not guess at them. MedicWatch, an independent service that aggregates publicly published decisions of UK healthcare regulators without editorialising their findings, carries his case with erasure (struck off the register) as his most recent published outcome, notes his registration status as not yet verified, and directs readers to the official HCPC register for his current position. Although the determination recounts the convictions in detail, the published record does not name the court that sentenced him, give the date of the convictions, or describe any sentence imposed.

The Controversy or Incident That Led to Their Cancellation

Adjudicated vs. alleged. James Bugg’s convictions on three counts of making indecent or pseudo-indecent photographs of children were proved through the criminal process and are a matter of court record, and the regulatory panel accepted the certificate of conviction. The published record identifies no part of the case that was discontinued or left unproved, and no other allegations were before the panel.

The convictions concerned the making of indecent or pseudo-indecent photographs of children. The panel’s record sets out the scale precisely: three counts involving five Category A images, 14 Category B images and 270 Category C images — 289 images in total. The material involved very young children, and the panel recorded that the offending exploited children including a baby. The published determination does not describe how the offending came to light, where Bugg was working when it happened, or the circumstances of his arrest and prosecution; on all of that the record is silent.

At the substantive hearing, which opened and closed on 17 March 2025, the panel found that his fitness to practise was impaired by reason of the convictions, on both the personal and the public component. It identified very limited insight into his offending, an attitudinal concern, and a continuing risk of repetition. The subject matter of the images — very young children — weighed directly in that assessment. On sanction, the panel concluded that the conviction was fundamentally incompatible with remaining on the register and that only striking off was appropriate.

The mitigating picture the panel recorded was narrow. Bugg acknowledged that his fitness to practise was impaired by reason of his conviction and accepted that the seriousness of the offences merited a Striking Off Order — a step the panel said demonstrated some insight. That acknowledgment did not alter the outcome: the findings of very limited insight and continuing risk of repetition sat alongside it, and the direction that followed was erasure. The record does not state whether Bugg attended the hearing in person, whether he was legally represented, or how his acknowledgment was put to the panel.

Public Reaction and Consequences

The published record shows no press coverage, no public statements from Bugg, and no comment from any employer or professional body beyond the tribunal process itself; on public reaction, the record is silent. The concrete consequences came from the process itself. The striking-off direction removed him from the HCPC register, ending his registration as an operating department practitioner. MedicWatch recorded the outcome as erasure (struck off the register) decided 17 March 2025, and its profile page carries the panel’s summary: convictions involving hundreds of indecent images of children, very limited insight, a continuing risk of repetition, offending that exploited children including a baby, and a conclusion that the convictions were incompatible with registration.

Current Status

Bugg was struck off the HCPC register by the panel’s decision of 17 March 2025. Erasure means removal from the register; the published note explains that the decision sets out when the direction takes effect and what appeal provisions apply, and directs readers to the official HCPC register for his current registration details. His MedicWatch profile carries his registration status as not yet verified, with the erasure of 17 March 2025 as his most recent published outcome. The record notes no interim order and no restoration application, and it does not state whether any appeal has been pursued.

Impact on Their Career/Life

The striking off ended Bugg’s registration and with it his ability to work as an operating department practitioner in the UK unless a future restoration application succeeds. The case shows how a conviction for offending entirely removed from clinical practice — the making of indecent images of children — nonetheless ends a healthcare registration: the panel treated the convictions as fundamentally incompatible with remaining a registered professional at all. The insight he showed took the form of accepting that his fitness to practise was impaired and that a Striking Off Order was merited, and even that was not enough to displace the panel’s assessment of very limited insight and continuing risk. The record contains no information about his circumstances since the decision.

Sources

  • *MedicWatch, “HCPTS panel strikes off James Bugg after convictions” (HCPC determination, substantive hearing) — source
  • *MedicWatch, “James Bugg — Struck off the register · Health and Care Professions Council ODP34288” — source
Page updated: March 17, 2025