Curtis Weston

Introduction

Curtis Weston, age 35, of Rockwell City, Iowa, pleaded guilty on October 2, 2026, to one count of money laundering in federal court in the Northern District of Iowa. In his plea agreement, Weston admitted that he and another individual transferred no less than $21,992,037 in fraudulently obtained loan funds — funds drawn on loans taken out in Weston’s name and in the names of 26 other unwitting customers — with an insider at the victim bank processing the fraudulent loans and moving the money into Weston’s account. Sentencing has not been set; he faces a possible maximum sentence of 10 years’ imprisonment, a $250,000 fine, and up to three years of supervised release.

Background Information

The scheme Weston admitted to ran through a regulated bank and an online brokerage, and its scale — nearly $22 million moved through a single account in a small northwest Iowa town — came from infrastructure others built. According to the release, an individual employed at the bank where Weston held his account processed the fraudulent loans and transferred the funds from the bank’s general ledger into Weston’s bank account. The loans were taken in Weston’s name and in the names of 26 other unwitting customers, meaning the fraud left real loan obligations attached to people who never applied for them. Weston and his co-conspirator held accounts, collectively and individually, at an online brokerage based in New York.

The Controversy or Incident That Led to Their Cancellation

Pleaded guilty; sentencing pending.

Weston’s guilty plea on October 2, 2026, laid out the money flow in detail. He admitted that $21,992,037 in funds from fraudulently obtained loans — in his name and the names of 26 other unwitting customers — was deposited into his bank account, having been processed and transferred there by the bank employee insider. He and his co-conspirator then held accounts at the New York-based online brokerage, and the government stated at the plea that it intends to prove at sentencing that the fraudulently obtained funds were all transferred from Weston’s bank account to accounts in Weston’s name at that brokerage. Weston specifically admitted to taking $20,000 of the fraudulently obtained loan funds and illegally transferring it to an account at another bank.

The release does not name the bank, the brokerage, the bank-employee insider, or the co-conspirator, and does not state whether the insider has been charged, when the scheme operated, or what became of the remaining balance of the $21,992,037. What it fixes is Weston’s admission and exposure: the money-laundering count carries a possible maximum of 10 years’ imprisonment, a $250,000 fine, and up to three years of supervised release, with sentencing before United States District Court Judge Leonard T. Strand to be set after a presentence report is prepared. Weston remains free on bond previously set by the court pending that sentencing.

Public Reaction and Consequences

The reaction on the record is institutional: the release contains no community statements from Rockwell City, no statements from the victim bank or the 26 unwitting borrowers, and no comment from Weston or his counsel. The consequences are concrete. Weston stands convicted by plea of money laundering in a scheme whose admitted scale is $21,992,037, and his pre-sentence liberty is bond, not custody. The case was investigated by the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation’s Office of Inspector General and the Sac County Sheriff’s Office, and is being prosecuted by Assistant United States Attorneys Ron Timmons and Dan Chatham. The release’s own framing places the admitted transfer figure — no less than $21,992,037 — at the center of the charge.

Current Status

Weston is awaiting sentencing before Judge Strand, to be scheduled after the presentence report is complete. He is free on bond previously set by the court. The admitted conduct and the government’s stated sentencing intent — that all the fraudulently obtained loan funds moved from Weston’s bank account to his brokerage accounts — are now of record; the sentence, fine, supervised-release term, and any restitution or forfeiture to the bank and the 26 unknowing co-borrowers remain to be imposed. The case file number in the Northern District of Iowa is 26-04003. The release does not state whether additional defendants are charged.

Impact on Their Career/Life

The plea converts Weston from a bond-conditions defendant into a convicted money launderer whose admitted role — the destination account for $21,992,037 in stolen loan proceeds, and a personal skim of $20,000 illegally moved to another bank — is fixed in the public court record. Whatever sentence Judge Strand imposes will follow a 35-year-old whose documented financial life ran through accounts he and a co-conspirator held at a New York brokerage, funded by loans taken in the names of people who never applied for them. The release describes no occupation for Weston beyond the scheme itself, no family details, and nothing in mitigation; his sentencing will resolve both the prison exposure and the question of what is returned to the victims.

Sources

  • U.S. Attorney’s Office, Northern District of Iowa, “Man Pleads Guilty to Money Laundering Offense in Scheme Involving Over $21,000,000 in Stolen Funds”, October 5, 2026 — source
Page updated: October 2, 2026