Daljit Kooner

Introduction

Daljit Kooner is a chiropodist / podiatrist who was registered with the Health and Care Professions Council (HCPC) under registration number CH11082. On 20 June 2025, at the end of a substantive hearing that had begun the previous day, a panel of the Health and Care Professions Tribunal Service (HCPTS) found his fitness to practise impaired by reason of a conviction for an offence under section 3 of the Sexual Offences (Scotland) Act 2009, struck him off the register with immediate effect, and imposed an interim suspension order covering any appeal period.

Background Information

The published record identifies Kooner as a chiropodist / podiatrist holding HCPC registration CH11082. It does not describe where he trained, where he practised, or how long he held registration, and this page does not guess at any of that. The record shows only that he was convicted at Edinburgh Sheriff Court on 20 October 2023 of an offence under section 3 of the Sexual Offences (Scotland) Act 2009, and that the HCPTS allegation arising from it was that his fitness to practise was impaired by reason of that conviction. MedicWatch, an independent service that aggregates publicly published decisions of UK healthcare regulators without editorialising their findings, carries his case with erasure (struck off the register) as his most recent published outcome and notes his registration status as not yet verified, directing readers to the official HCPC register for his current position.

The Controversy or Incident That Led to Their Cancellation

Adjudicated vs. alleged. Daljit Kooner’s conviction at Edinburgh Sheriff Court on 20 October 2023 of an offence under section 3 of the Sexual Offences (Scotland) Act 2009 was proved through the criminal process and is a matter of court record, and the regulatory panel accepted the certificate of conviction. Nothing in the published record points to any charge that was dismissed or not proved.

The conviction itself took place at Edinburgh Sheriff Court on 20 October 2023: an offence under section 3 of the Sexual Offences (Scotland) Act 2009. The determination records only that Kooner was convicted of that offence; it does not set out a charge narrative or a date for the underlying events. What it does contain is a set of circumstances drawn from the sentencing remarks. The panel noted that Kooner had been “predatory in ensuring that the victim was separated and led away from her friends and taken to his home”, and that the evidence came to light through the arrival of the victim’s friends and the police at his home.

The panel accepted the conviction as proved — the certificate of conviction discharged the regulatory burden — and found his fitness to practise impaired on both personal and public grounds. On mitigation, the only factor it credited was ill health arising from working in a highly pressurised environment during the early stages of COVID. Against that, it weighed aggravating factors drawn from the sentencing remarks: indications of “other previous Police issues”, which it accepted might not be factually relevant to the hearing but which it noted alongside the point that Kooner was “not without a previously unblemished reputation”; and a recorded drink issue that had not been addressed. The panel reasoned that further uncontrolled drinking could lead him to make another “bad decision” or “error of judgment” — his own words, as recorded — and treated this in assessing the risk of repetition. It also noted that he had been predatory in separating the victim from her friends, and that there was and remained denial of the events by Kooner, with nothing to demonstrate insight, remorse, apology or regret. A further aggravating feature was that he was then serving a community payback sentence that would not end until February 2026, which the panel held to be incompatible with unrestricted practice.

On that basis the panel directed that his name be struck off the register with immediate effect and imposed an 18-month interim suspension order to cover any appeal period. The record does not state what sentence the sheriff court imposed beyond the community payback requirement, does not name the victim, and does not describe the offence beyond the statutory provision.

Public Reaction and Consequences

The published record shows no press coverage, no public statements from Kooner or any other party, and no campaign around the case; the consequences flowed from the regulatory process itself. The panel found a lack of insight, remorse, apology or remediation and identified a risk of repetition, weighing the unaddressed drink issue and the continuing community payback sentence against the single mitigating factor of COVID-related ill health. His denial of the events was recorded against him. The outcome was erasure: removal from the HCPC register, effective immediately, with an 18-month interim suspension covering any appeal period. His MedicWatch profile records erasure (struck off the register) as his most recent published outcome, and lists among similar outcomes other allied-health professionals erased from HCPC registers.

Current Status

Kooner was struck off the HCPC register by the panel’s decision of 20 June 2025, with the direction taking effect immediately. An 18-month interim suspension order covers any appeal period, so he may not practise as a chiropodist or podiatrist in the UK while that order or any resulting appeal is live. The record does not state whether an appeal was lodged or determined; it notes only that the interim suspension covers any appeal period. His MedicWatch profile records erasure (struck off the register) as his most recent published outcome, notes his registration status as not yet verified, and directs readers to the official HCPC register for his current registration details.

Impact on Their Career/Life

Striking off ended Kooner’s HCPC registration and his ability to work as a chiropodist or podiatrist in the UK unless a future restoration application succeeds. The case shows how a criminal conviction outside clinical practice ends a healthcare registration on its own: no finding about his treatment of patients was needed, because the allegation was the conviction itself. It also shows the cost of sustained denial. The panel found nothing to demonstrate insight, remorse, apology or regret, treated his continued denial of the events as an aggravating factor, and reasoned that an unaddressed drink issue and the unexpired community payback sentence — which ran to February 2026 — made unrestricted practice incompatible with public protection. The record contains no information about his circumstances since the decision.

Sources

  • *MedicWatch, “HCPTS panel strikes off Daljit Kooner after sexual offence conviction” (HCPC determination, substantive hearing) — source
  • *MedicWatch, “Daljit Kooner — Struck off the register · Health and Care Professions Council CH11082” — source
Page updated: June 20, 2025