Jonathan Chaplin
Introduction
Jonathan Chaplin is a radiographer who was registered with the Health and Care Professions Council (HCPC) under registration number RA61974. On 13 May 2026, at a substantive hearing, a panel of the Health and Care Professions Tribunal Service (HCPTS) found his fitness to practise impaired by reason of conviction and directed that he be struck off the register. The case followed his convictions for attempting to engage in sexual communication with a child and for attempting to cause or incite a girl under 13 to engage in sexual activity. The panel concluded that the serious sexual offending was incompatible with continued registration and imposed an interim suspension to cover the appeal period, subject to a maximum of 18 months.
Background Information
The published record identifies Chaplin only as a radiographer holding HCPC registration RA61974. It does not name an employer, a workplace or a region, and it does not describe his training, career or personal history; this page does not guess at any of them. His MedicWatch profile records his most recent published outcome as erasure — struck off the register — decided on 13 May 2026 by the Health and Care Professions Council, while noting his registration status as not yet verified and directing readers to the official HCPC register for current details. MedicWatch aggregates regulator outcomes and states it does not editorialise the regulator’s findings.
Before the substantive hearing the case had already reached the interim-orders stage: at a review on 16 December 2025, the Investigating Committee confirmed the interim suspension that kept him out of practice while the matter awaited adjudication.
The Controversy or Incident That Led to Their Cancellation
Convictions, not allegations. Jonathan Chaplin was convicted of attempted sexual communication with a child and of attempting to cause or incite a girl under 13 to engage in sexual activity. The HCPTS panel then made its own finding on the conviction ground. Presumption of innocence does not arise: these are recorded convictions, not unproven charges.
The matters before the panel arose from Chaplin’s convictions for attempting to engage in sexual communication with a child and for attempting to cause or incite a girl under 13 to engage in sexual activity. The published record does not state the sentencing court, the sentence imposed, or the dates of the convictions; those details are not guessed at here.
At the interim-order review on 16 December 2025, the Investigating Committee confirmed the interim suspension — the order section of the published page records it as “confirmed” — as a precautionary measure ahead of a full hearing; at that stage the case had not yet been adjudicated on its merits.
At the substantive hearing on 13 May 2026, the panel found Chaplin’s fitness to practise impaired by reason of his convictions. It concluded that the serious sexual offending was incompatible with continued registration, directed that he be struck off, and imposed an interim suspension order to cover the appeal period, subject to a maximum of 18 months.
Public Reaction and Consequences
The published record contains no press coverage of the hearings and no public statements — none from Chaplin, any employer or campaign groups. The most the editorial record offers is MedicWatch’s subheadline: “The radiographer was struck off following convictions for attempted sexual communication with a child and attempted incitement of sexual activity.” The documented consequences are the regulatory sanctions themselves:
- an interim suspension, confirmed at the interim-order review of 16 December 2025 by the Investigating Committee as a precautionary restriction while the case awaited a substantive hearing;
- the finding at the substantive hearing on 13 May 2026 that his fitness to practise was impaired by reason of conviction; and
- the erasure direction of 13 May 2026, with an interim suspension for the appeal period subject to a maximum of 18 months.
The arc of the two recorded decisions is direct rather than escalating: the interim suspension held him out of practice pending adjudication, and the substantive panel resolved the case against him by striking him off.
Current Status
Chaplin was struck off the HCPC register by the panel’s decision of 13 May 2026, with an interim suspension in force for the appeal period, subject to a maximum of 18 months. His MedicWatch profile records erasure as his most recent published outcome, notes his registration status as not yet verified, and directs readers to the official HCPC register for his current position.
The convictions are criminal matters, but the published record does not state the sentencing court, the sentence, or the dates of the convictions; those details are not guessed at here. The regulatory sanction is erasure, founded on the panel’s finding that the serious sexual offending was incompatible with continued registration. The published record shows no appeal and no application for restoration.
Impact on Their Career/Life
Erasure ended Chaplin’s registration to practise as a radiographer in the UK unless a future restoration application succeeds. By the time of the substantive hearing he had already been unable to practise under the interim suspension confirmed at the 16 December 2025 review, and the appeal-period suspension extended that exclusion beyond the striking-off decision.
The panel’s reasoning was conviction-based: it found impairment by reason of conviction and concluded that the serious sexual offending was incompatible with continued registration, leaving no basis on which a lesser sanction appears in the record. Beyond the determinations, the published record contains no information about his circumstances since the decision, and nothing on this page should be read as going beyond it.
Sources
- *MedicWatch, “HCPTS orders Jonathan Chaplin struck off after convictions” (HCPC determination, decision dated 13 May 2026) — source
- *MedicWatch, “Jonathan Chaplin — Interim order imposed” (HCPC determination, decision dated 16 December 2025) — source
- *MedicWatch, “Jonathan Chaplin — Radiographer · Health and Care Professions Council RA61974” — source