Mukhtar Hussain

Introduction

Mukhtar Hussain is a doctor who stood on the General Medical Council (GMC) register under number 5179929. On 3 December 2025, at the end of a hearing that ran from 1 to 3 December 2025, a Medical Practitioners Tribunal Service (MPTS) tribunal found his fitness to practise impaired by reason of a criminal conviction and imposed an erasure order with an immediate order. The conviction was for doing an act tending and intending to pervert the course of justice: the tribunal record states that on 12 April 2021 he attended Patient A’s address with £5,000 and a retraction statement, intending to pervert the course of public justice. Hussain was not present and was not represented at the hearing. The tribunal assessed the risk to public protection as high, engaged all three limbs of public protection, and concluded that erasure was the only proportionate and appropriate sanction.

Background Information

The published record identifies Hussain only as a doctor holding GMC number 5179929. It does not name an employer, specialty or place of practice, and it does not describe his registration history; this page does not guess at any of them. The criminal matter that reached the tribunal was a conviction on 2 March 2023 at Chelmsford Crown Court of doing an act tending and intending to pervert the course of justice, in that on 12 April 2021 he attended Patient A’s address with £5,000 and a retraction statement. He was sentenced on 5 February 2025 to 14 months’ imprisonment. The record gives the conviction and sentencing dates without explaining the interval of almost two years between them, and it does not describe the proceedings whose course the offence was found to have been intended to pervert. The identity of Patient A is not stated beyond the label the record uses, and no home address or other personal detail appears in it.

The Controversy or Incident That Led to Their Cancellation

Adjudicated vs. alleged. Mukhtar Hussain’s conviction on 2 March 2023 at Chelmsford Crown Court of doing an act tending and intending to pervert the course of justice is a matter of court record. The tribunal proved the conviction allegations by reference to the Certificate of Conviction; its conclusions on insight, remediation, risk and impairment are regulatory findings, not part of the criminal conviction.

The GMC alleged two facts. First, that on 2 March 2023 at Chelmsford Crown Court Hussain was convicted of doing an act tending and intending to pervert the course of justice, in that on 12 April 2021 he attended Patient A’s address with £5,000 and a retraction statement, intending to pervert the course of public justice. Second, that on 5 February 2025 he was sentenced to 14 months’ imprisonment. Both allegations were found proved. The Tribunal found the allegation proved in its entirety by reference to the Certificate of Conviction, determined that Hussain’s fitness to practise was impaired, and assessed the risk to public protection as high, with “all three limbs of public protection engaged”.

On insight and sanction, the tribunal found Hussain showed a “very limited and persistent lack of insight”, had provided no evidence of remediation, and had attempted to downplay the seriousness of his offending in his written representations. It concluded that “erasure was the only proportionate and appropriate sanction” and imposed an immediate order, so the erasure took effect without waiting for the outcome of any appeal period.

The aggravating factors the tribunal recorded were set out plainly. Hussain’s insight was very limited and had persisted despite the passage of time from his 2023 conviction. He provided no evidence of remediation. In written representations he sought to downplay his offending and “requested conditions of practice rather than acknowledging the gravity of his conviction”. He was absent from the hearing, so the tribunal decided the case on the papers and the certificate of conviction without him before it. The published record lists no mitigating factors.

Public Reaction and Consequences

The published record contains no press coverage of the hearing and no public statements — none from Hussain beyond his written representations, and none from patients, colleagues or campaign groups. The concrete consequence is the erasure order itself, together with the immediate order the tribunal attached to it. MedicWatch, which maintains the practitioner-facing record of the decision, aggregates regulator outcomes and states it does not editorialise the regulator’s findings.

Current Status

Hussain is erased from the GMC register. The erasure was imposed on 3 December 2025 at the close of the three-day hearing, with an immediate order, after the tribunal concluded that erasure was the only proportionate and appropriate sanction. His entry in the MedicWatch record of MPTS outcomes dates the decision to 3 December 2025 and notes that he was neither present nor represented. The published record shows no appeal and no application for restoration, and it does not state his circumstances after the order was made.

Impact on Their Career/Life

Erasure ends Hussain’s UK registration as a doctor unless a future restoration application succeeds, and the tribunal’s reasoning — a “very limited and persistent lack of insight”, no evidence of remediation, and a high risk to public protection with all three limbs engaged — records why it considered no lesser sanction workable. The criminal conviction carries consequences that sit outside the regulator’s jurisdiction: the record states he was sentenced to 14 months’ imprisonment on 5 February 2025. Beyond that, the published record contains no information about his circumstances, and nothing on this page should be read as going beyond it.

Sources

  • *MedicWatch, “Mukhtar Hussain — Struck off the register · 3 December 2025” — source
Page updated: December 3, 2025